Sunday, February 5, 2023
No menu items!
HomePOLITICSJUDICIARYNJC Recommends 6 Chief Judges Tor Appointment, 30 Others As Judicial Officers

NJC Recommends 6 Chief Judges Tor Appointment, 30 Others As Judicial Officers

The National Judicial Council, NJC, has recommended the appointment of Chief Judges and 30 others as Judicial Officers to beef up judicial functions in some states and the Federal Capital Territory, FCT.

At its 95th meeting held on September of 15 & 16, 2021, the council considered the list of candidates presented by its Interview Committee and recommended the 36 successful candidates to their respective state governors for appointment as Heads of Courts and other Judicial Officers in Nigeria.

They are Hon. Justice Richard O. Olorunfemi as Chief Judge, Kogi State, Hon. Justice Joe Itsebaga Acha for Edo, Hon. Justice Akintoroye Williams Akin for Ondo, Hon. Justice Husseini Baba Yusuf for FCT, Hon. Justice Ekaette Francesca Fabian-Obot for Akwa Ibom and Hon. Justice J. O. Adeyeye for Ekiti State.

Others are Hon. Kadi Baba Gana Mahdi as Grand Kadi, Yobe, Umaru Ahmad Liman as Grand Kadi, Bauchi, Hon. Justice Osagede Osado Emmanuel as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Nasarawa, Hon. Justice Mashud Akintunde Akinfemi Abass as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Oyo state and Siyaka Momoh Jimoh Usman as President Customary Court of Appeal, Kogi state.

Three Judges are recommended for high court of Gombe and they are Zainab Abdulkadir Rasheed, Abdussalam Muhammad and Daurabo Suleiman Sikka.

Akwa Ibom has one, Effiong Asukwo Effiong. Bauchi has one, Nana Fatima Jibril, while Kaduna high court has Abdulkarim Mahmud

The three candidates recommended for Katsina State are Kabir Shuaibu, Ibrahim Ishaku Mashi and Ibrahim Abubakar Mande, while
Professor Alero Akeredolu was recommended for Ondo State.

Four successful candidates for Oyo State are Olusola Adebisi Adetujoye, Folabimpe Beatrice Segun Olakojo, Professor Taiwo Elijah Adewale and Kareem Adeyimika Adedokun.

Kogi State has three candidates and they are
Abubakar Sule Ibrahim, Abdullah Sulyman, as well as Aminu Ali Eri.

Two Kadis for Sharia Court of Appeal are Adamu Kuna Jibril and Ahmed Baba Bala, while the four for Bauchi are Musa Sani Abubakar, Mahdi Manga, Khamis Al-Hamidallah Muhammad and Sani Musa with Ondo State having one in the person of Orimisan James Okorisa and Oyo Customary Court of Appeal having Ajadi Olubukola Omolayo.

A statement issued on Sunday by NJC Director of Information, Mr Soji Oye and released in Abuja, said that all the recommended candidates are expected to be sworn-in after approval by the President, Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR and their respective State Governors and confirmation by the respective State House of Assembly.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments